Spring Garden-East Deutschtown History
Our neighborhood was settled in the late 19th century by German and Austrian immigrants and first-generation descendents. Many of the initial residents worked in the food processing plants and tanneries located in the area.
In 1848, three breweries opened on the site where the Penn Brewery exists today. Three of the original brewery buildings remain.
Annexed by Pittsburgh in 1907, this area comprised the eastern expansion of Allegheny City center.
The H.J. Heinz Factory was originally constructed between 1912 and 1931 and represented the heart of the food processing operations of this iconic company for years.